Select Page

QWSG Count Dates (& ID Days)

(Special note on Wader Identification Days – Due to Covid-19 we have not had any ID days since early 2020.  Under the restrictions and plans that are in place by BQ and QWSG it is making things a little difficult for us to hold any ID days.  The requirements to socially distance and the viewing of waders does require the use of a telescope which a lot of people do not own.  Under the current plan we are NOT allowed to share equipment with other people.  Not being able to view the waders through other people’s telescopes will probably be somewhat frustrating for those with only binoculars given the distance to the birds. If guidelines change in the future and we can safely return to holding ID days, notifications will be advertised in the QWSG newsletter and on this website.  We encourage you to keep checking the newsletters and website so that you can attend the ID days in the future.)

Count Dates 2021

A wader count in progress! © 2010 QWSG

The following list of dates gives the scheduled QWSG count dates and also the Port of Brisbane count dates. If you want to be involved in regular counts, or would like to come along and see how a count is conducted please contact our Count Coordinator (see the contact Us page).

Please note that due to insurance reasons we are not always able to include new people in counts straight away, particularly in areas like the Port of Brisbane which are working sites where we operate under contract.

However, we are always looking for new counters so please do get in touch if you are interested in getting involved and helping us out. At the moment we really need new counters so if you think you can make the commitment to a count every month, or to just help out an existing counter please contact us, see the contact page for the count coordinator’s contact details.

QWSG High Tide – Monthly Count Programme – 2021

Sat 16th Jan     2.49m at 11:48            National Summer Count

Sat 13th Feb     2.51m at 10:46

Sat 13th Mar    2.43m at 09:45

Sat 10th Apr     2.31m at 08:37

Sat 8th May      2.16m at 07:20

NO COUNT IN JUNE

Sat 17th Jul      1.92m at 15:12            National Winter Count

Sat 14th Aug    2.00m at 13:44

Sat 11th Sep     2.17m at 12:32

Sat 23rd Oct     2.27m at 10:57

Sat 20th Nov    2.38m at 10:00

Sat 11th Dec    2.15m at 15:25

Counters Rockhampton and north – please select a date as close as possible to the count programme day with suitable tides to enable you to complete your counts.

Port of Brisbane Count Dates – 2021

Please note meeting times may change at the last minute depending on the number of attendees on the day.

Sun 17th Jan    2.38m at 12:25            Meet    11:05               National Summer Count

Sun 14th Feb    2.43m at 11:19            Meet    10:00

Sun 14th Mar   2.38m at 10:16            Meet    09:00

Sun 11th Apr   2.27m at 09:12            Meet    07:50

Sun 9th May    2.13m at 07:59             Meet    06:45

Sat 19th Jun     1.97m at 16:52            Meet    15:30                *******

Sun 18th Jul     2.03m at 16:24            Meet    15:00               National Winter Count

Sun 15rth Aug  2.02m at 14:46            Meet    13:25

Sun 12th Sep    2.15m at13:24             Meet    12:05

Sun 24th Oct    2.24m at 11:30            Meet    10:10

Sun 21st Nov   2.37m at 10:33            Meet    09:10

Sun 12th Dec   2.05m at 16:23            Meet    15:00

******* Change of count day to be confirmed.